REVEALED: Full list of MPs who voted against Rishi Sunak’s new Brexit deal

Despite a rebellion from some Tory MPs and the DUP, Rishi Sunak’s new Brexit deal has passed its first Commons test. MPs approved regulations to implement the Stormont brake section of the Windsor Framework by a vote of 515 to 29, with a majority of 486.

According to the division list, 22 Conservative MPs voted against the Government.

Former Prime Ministers Boris Johnson and Liz Truss were among them, as was former Conservative leader Sir Iain Duncan-Smith, former Cabinet minister Jacob Rees-Mogg, and former party chairman Sir Jake Berry.

Six DUP MPs and Andrew Bridgen, an independent, also voted against the brake.

A further 48 Conservative MPs abstained, though some would have been permitted to be absent from Westminster.

Who voted against the Government?


  • Adam Afriyie (Windsor)
  • Jake Berry (Rossendale and Darwen)
  • Peter Bone (Wellingborough)
  • William Cash (Stone)
  • Christopher Chope (Christchurch)
  • Simon Clarke (Middlesbrough South and East Cleveland)
  • Richard Drax (South Dorset)
  • James Duddridge (Rochford and Southend East)
  • Iain Duncan Smith (Chingford and Woodford Green)
  • Mark Francois (Rayleigh and Wickford)
  • Jonathan Gullis (Stoke-on-Trent North)
  • Adam Holloway (Gravesham)
  • Andrea Jenkyns (Morley and Outwood)
  • Boris Johnson (Uxbridge and South Ruislip)
  • David Jones (Clwyd West)
  • Danny Kruger (Devizes)
  • Craig Mackinlay (South Thanet)
  • Matthew Offord (Hendon)
  • Priti Patel (Witham)
  • John Redwood (Wokingham)
  • Jacob Rees-Mogg (North East Somerset)
  • Elizabeth Truss (South West Norfolk)


  • Gregory Campbell (East Londonderry)
  • Jeffrey Donaldson (Lagan Valley)
  • Carla Lockhart (Upper Bann)
  • Gavin Robinson (Belfast East)
  • Jim Shannon (Strangford)
  • Sammy Wilson (East Antrim)


  • Andrew Bridgen (North West Leicestershire)
See also
Sunak urges European leaders to make Russia pay for ‘horrendous war crimes’

The European Research Group (ERG) of Conservative Brexiteers said ahead of the vote that it was “strongly recommending” that its members vote against the regulations.

Labour voted in favour of the brake provision in the Prime Minister’s Brexit deal.

The mechanism would allow Stormont Assembly MLAs to formally express concerns about the imposition of new EU laws in Northern Ireland, which could result in the UK Government vetoing their implementation in the region.

Northern Ireland Secretary Chris Heaton-Harris told MPs today in the Commons: “Without this measure, Northern Ireland would continue to have full and automatic dynamic alignment with EU goods rules, with no say for the Northern Ireland Assembly and no veto for amending or replacing those measures.”